NATE Certifications Explained

The NATE exams cover HVAC installation, service, and senior technicians. In fact, there is not just a single NATE test (there are actually 22 NATE tests). However, to become NATE-certified, you only need to pass a CORE and one SPECIALTY test. The specialty certification would be in either the INSTALLATION or SERVICE path.

The Core test covers the candidate's general knowledge, construction knowledge, and HVACR specific knowledge in the areas of safety/tools/soft skills, heat transfer/comfort, and electrical systems. Specialty exams cover the candidate's knowledge of the installation, service maintenance, and/or repair of HVACR systems.

The following NATE specialty certifications are available:

    Air Conditioning
    Air Distribution
    Air-to-Air Heat Pumps
    Gas Furnaces
    Oil Furnaces
    Hydronics Gas
    Hydronics Oil
    Light Commercial Refrigeration
    Commercial Refrigeration
    HVAC Efficiency Analyst (Senior Level)

All of the NATE tests are rigorous, multiple-choice, knowledge-based tests and validate a technician’s knowledge.

NATE believes that valid certifications must test the actual knowledge a technician needs to do a specific job. They should be relevant, derived from industry consensus and independently administered by a disinterested third party. All test and knowledge elements should be evaluated and validated by a psychometrician. Tests should have an appeals process and be analyzed regularly to keep current and accurate. Furthermore, there should be a firewall between training and testing, thus eliminating the specter of anyone “teaching the test.” NATE testing does all of this.

Continue Reading – Page 5 of 5: Benefits of NATE Certification

I’m Ready to Become a NATE Certified Technician
Back to the HVAC Training & Certification Main Page

Everblue is a NATE Certified Training Provider