LEED Credentialing Process

The LEED credentialing process has three tiers for individual certification.

LEED Certification CredentialsThe first tier is the LEED Green Associate. The Green Associate Exam is a required first step and covers the basics of the LEED Green Building Rating Systems.

The second tier is the LEED AP with Specialty. LEED AP with Specialty can be achieved through successful completion of a LEED specialty exam. There are five LEED AP specialties.

The third tier is LEED Fellow. LEED APs who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in key mastery elements related to technical knowledge and skill are eligible for this honor. They have made significant contributions in teaching, mentoring, or research with proven outcomes.

How to Earn a LEED Credential

To earn your LEED accreditation, you will follow these steps:

•  Step 1:  Prepare for the LEED Green Associate Exam

•  Step 2:  Pay USGBC for Your LEED Green Associate Exam

•  Step 3:  Schedule Your Exam Appointment with Prometric 

•  Step 4:  Participate in Continuing Education & Pay a Biennial Fee

After earning your LEED Green Associate credential, you may choose to either (a) stay at the LEED Green Associate level or (b) advance to a LEED AP with a Specialty.

Add sustainability and green building knowledge to your list of skills today!

Register Now for LEED Green Associate

Continue Reading - Page 4 of 5: Who Should Get LEED?

Go back to the New to LEED? Start Here main page.

Danna Seigle Everblue Training Review 

Request Information

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.


     Everblue has 99% Pass Rate on LEED GA Exam


Find a Course Near You