LEED Rating Systems Explained

LEED Certification applies to all building types at all phases of development. Because the LEED standards are flexible enough to apply to all project types, there are unique categories called LEED Rating Systems that project teams use to organize their process and documentation for a specific building type.

The LEED rating systems are grouped into five main categories:

  • Building Design and Construction
  • Interior Design and Construction
  • Operations and Maintenance
  • Homes
  • Neighborhood Development

These categories also correspond to the LEED professional credentials, which allow an individual to demonstrate proficiency in a specific LEED specialty.

LEED Rating Systems graphic

Building Design and Construction

The first category, Building Design and Construction, contains 10 LEED rating systems. These rating systems are guidelines for new buildings and old buildings undergoing major renovations. Schools, hospitals, retail, data centers, warehouses, office buildings, and apartment buildings are all examples of buildings that would fall into this category.

Interior Design and Construction

The second category is Interior Design and Construction, which was designed specifically for tenants leasing a portion of a larger building. Interior spaces in commercial buildings, retail, and hospitals would fall into this category. For example, a company leasing commercial office space or for a Starbucks in a strip center would pursue this option.

Building Operations and Maintenance

The third category is Building Operations and Maintenance, which can be used by building owners and operators to measure operations and maintenance as well as make minor improvements. Schools, hospitals, retail, data centers, and warehouses can fall into this category.

LEED for Homes

The fourth category is LEED for Homes, which was specifically designed for single and multi-family residential structures that are three stories or less. LEED for Homes is modeled after the Environmental Protection Agency’s successful ENERGY STAR for Homes program and became available to the public in 2008. It applies to single- and multi-family residential units up to three stories tall.

LEED for Neighborhood Development

The fifth and final category is LEED for Neighborhood Development, which integrates the principles of smart growth, urbanism, and green building into the first national program for neighborhood design.

register for leed ga exam training

Go back to the What is LEED? information page.

Request Information

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Find a Course Near You